Rudolph A. Marcus


Born July 21, 1923, in Montreal, Canada.

Arthur Amos Noyes Professor of Chemistry, Department of Chemistry, 127-72, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, California, USA
WWW: external link

Anne Molson Prize in Chemistry, McGill (1943); Alfred P. Sloan Fellowhip, (1960-64); NSF Senior Postdoctoral Fellowship (1960-61); Member, National Academy of Sciences (1970-); Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences (1973-); Visiting Professor of Theoretical Chemistry, University of Oxford, England (1975-76); Professorial Fellow, University College, University of Oxford (1975-76), Honorary Fellow (1995-); Linnett Visiting Professor, Univ. of Cambridge, (1996); Alexander von Humboldt Foundation Senior US Scientist Award, Technical University of Munich (1976); Irving Langmuir Award in Chemical Physics, American Chemical Society (1978); The Electrochemical Society Lecture, The Electrochemical Society (1979, 1996); Robinson Medal, Faraday Division, Roy. Soc. of Chem. (1982); Renaud Foundation Lectureship, Am. Chem. Soc. Michigan State Univ. Section (1982); Nebraska Lectureship, Am. Chem. Soc. Univ. of Nebraska (1982); Chandler Medal, Columbia Univ., New York (1983); Wolf Prize in Chemistry (1985); Commemorative Issue, Journal of Physical Chemistry (1986); Foreign Member, The Royal Society (London) (1987); Member, Internat'l Acad. Quantum Mol. Sci. (1987); Willard Gibbs Medal, Am. Chem. Soc., Chicago Section (1988); Peter Debye Award in Physical Chemistry, Am. Chem. Soc. (1988); Centenary Medal, Faraday Division, Roy. Soc. of Chem. (1988); S.C. Lind Lectureship, Am. Chem. Soc., East Tennessee Section (1988); National Medal of Science (1989); Theodore William Richards Medal, Am. Chem. Soc., Northeastern Section (1990); Member, American Philosophical Society (1990-) (Council, 1999-); William Lloyd Evans Award, Ohio State Univ., Columbus (1990); Honorary Fellow, Roy. Soc. of Chem. (1991); Edgar Fahs Smith Award, Am. Chem. Soc., Philadelphia Section (1991); Remsen Award, Am. Chem. Soc., Maryland Section (1991); Linus Pauling Award, Am. Chem. Soc., Oregon, Portland, and Puget Sound Sections (1991); Nobel Prize in Chemistry (1992); Joseph O. Hirschfelder Prize in Theoretical Chemistry (1993); American Academy of Achievement Golden Plate Award (1993); Foreign Fellow, Royal Society of Canada (1993-); Honorary Member, Internat'l Soc. of Electrochemistry (1994-); Honorary Citizen of Winnipeg (1994); Lavoisier Medal, Société Française de Chimie (1994); Treasure of Los Angeles Award, Central City Association of Los Angeles (1995); Honorary Member, Internat'l Soc. of Theoetical Chemical Physics (1995-); Auburn - G. M. Kosolapoff Award, Am. Chem. Soc., Auburn Section (1996); Hon. Member, Korean Chemical Society (1996-); Hon. Editor, Internat'l Journal of Quantum Chemistry (1996-); Award in Theoretical Chemistry, Am. Chem. Soc. (1997); Oesper Award, Am. Chem. Soc., Cincinnati Section (1997); Top 75 Award, Chemical and Engineering Bureau, Am. Chem. Soc., Boston (1998); Foreign Member, Chinese Academy of Sciences, (1998); Key to the City of Taipei, Taiwan (1999). Honorary doctorates from University of Chicago, (1983), Polytechnic Univ., (1986), Univ. of Göteborg, Sweden, (1987), McGill Univ., Canada, (1988), Univ. of New Brunswick, Canada, (1993), Queen's Univ., Canada, (1993), Univ. of Oxford, U.K., (1995), Univ. of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, (1996), Yokohama National Univ., Japan, (1996), Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, (1997), Technion-Israel Institute of Technology, Israel, (1998), Universidad Politécnica de Valencia, Spain, (1999), Northwestern Univ., (2000)

Author of:

Approximately 320 scientific articles. Co-editor of Tunneling in Biological Systems (Academic Press, 1979). Co-editor of Intramolecular Motion and Chemical Reaction (Cambridge University Press, 1990).

Important Contributions:

Theory of electron transfer reactions in solution; Theory of unimolecular reactions (RRKM theory); Theory of ET reactions at electrodes and other interfaces; Semiclassical theory of bound states; Semiclassical theory of collisions; Reaction coordinates and Hamiltonians; Theory of product state distributions of unimolecular processes; Tunneling paths in chemical reactions.